Love Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

LOVE ROSIE

This novel was previously published as Rosie Dunne and Where Rainbows Ends. I guess many of you had watched the movie version of this novel right? In general this novel is about Rosie and Alex whom had been best friend since the age of 5. Ever since then they had never separated until one day Alex and his family had to move to Boston where his father got transferred to a better job. Despite being thousands miles away from each other, they managed to keep up with each other life be it in weddings, funerals, baptism and more. They keep in touch via emails and letters. That is where I found it cute. I had always been the person who prefer the conventional way of relationship and this novel portrayed it perfectly. Love it much. They know each other too well to the point where lying does not work for them.

I will not compare it with the movie as I believe that the writer had come out with the best script and story line. So as for the novel, I am quite disappointed with the fact they finally reunited at the age of 50. They missed the opportunities for 45 years! It was quite long you know. BUT I decided to let it pass since the message is there and the whole mixed up feelings the writers’ portrayed was felt deeply by me as a reader. Alex for me is a very calm guy and he knows what he wants. BUT he can be clueless sometimes and he has to many what if’s. If only he confronted Rosie about their kiss on Rosie’s birthday, things might turn out differently. Well they will underwent awkward phase and what not but at least she is aware of his feeling towards her. It will make her think about it no matter how hard she try to deny it. He can still convinced her, flirts with her and I dont know anything so that they can be together.

Rosie on the other hand is so DAMN OBLIVIOUS! I mean she failed to notice things that happening around her. She finally come to her senses once she got pregnant. She finally realized people around her and by then she started seeing Alex differently. She should have noticed it sooner. But then they are best friends so it is NORMAL to hesitate when it comes to deep feeling. I love how her character grows from the teens Rosie to a grown up Rosie. Alex is the soft type I think and Rosie is more outspoken. Look at how many emails Rosie send to Alex constantly giving him updates though Alex isn’t replying. While Alex, he was swayed with his feeling that there were times he totally shut Rosie out.( Honestly I dont know how to explain this)!

The siblings relationship( I LOVE IT) though the little brother is so annoying and irresponsible and ugh! I love how close and supportive Rosie and her sister are. Though they were thousand miles away but they know each other by heart. Constantly updating each other. Rosie supports her sister to drop everything and move to Paris and her sister too on how supportive she is when she was having a hard time during her pregnancy with Katie. Then for me, Alex is like a father figure to Katie. Like she told everything to Alex and I found their relationship so priceless and cute. Not every godfather/mother were closed to their goddaughter/son. CUTE!

BTW without they realizing it, THEY ACTUALLY ACT MORE LIKE A COUPLE RATHER THAN A FRIEND! Making life decisions and what not, sharing problems, discussing the solutions and more. That’s how valuable their friendship are. This is how every married couple should practice in maintaining their relationship. Come to think of it, it is kinda true that man and woman can never be best friend. They might fell in love or fell out of love. It might works for some people but honestly it is more to platonic relationship. Still there will be a little flirty thingy going on.

“Choosing the person you want to share your life with is one of the most important decisions any of us makes. Ever. Because when it’s wrong, it turns your life to grey. And sometimes, sometimes you don’t even notice until you wake up one morning, and realize years have gone by. We both know about that one, Alex. Your friendship has brought glorious technicolor to my life. It’s been there in the darkest of times, and I am the luckiest person alive for that gift. I hope I didn’t take it for granted. I think maybe I did, because sometimes you don’t see that the best thing that’s ever happened to you is sitting there, right under your nose. But that’s fine too. It really is. Because I’ve realized that no matter where you are, or what you’re doing, or who you are with, I will always honestly truly completely love you”

P/s: If You Love someone, GO FOR IT! Dont HESITATE!

~A

Leave a Reply

